The Final Visit

Well, its come and gone and I’m happy to say that it went as well as it could have.

I sent the children with their homemade valentines that they were so excited to give.  On their own they had determined that “mommy might be sad, but these will make her happy!”  And they were right – she loved them.  It was actually perfect because she had brought valentines for them as well!

She also brought bags of adorable new clothes for all of them.  Unexpected and wonderful! She bought Sprout a nice pair of boots that I’m pretty sure have not left his feet since Monday.  Perhaps I should remind him to change his socks.

Even better than all of that, she gave Sprout some wonderful keepsakes I know he will cherish.  Like a note describing his babyhood – when he walked, talked, first words, favorite foods, least favorite foods, her memories of him always wanting to be held and looking just like his father from the minute he was born.  Speaking of, she also gave him a picture of his father – the first one he had ever seen (his father passed away when he was a newborn).  So amazing. And for the girls, she gladly filled the 2 disposable cameras I sent with pictures of her and them so they will have evidence of this time even as their memories fade.  I can’t wait to see how those pictures came out. 

She also wrote them all a note reminding them that she will always love them and that they did nothing wrong nor was anything their fault.  She wrote a beautiful note to A and I as well.  Keepers for sure.

Jury is still out on whether contact will continue and in what form, but like I said, this “final” visit really couldn’t have gone any better.

19 Responses to “The Final Visit”

  1. Oh, that’s wonderful! I’m so glad she went.

  2. This is so wonderful to read 🙂 I’m glad that they have wonderful keepsakes to have forever 🙂 Sweetness

  3. I seriously started crying when I read this… thank you, thank you for sharing such an emotional time with all of us. Wow, your kids have a lot of love surrounding them!

  4. “She also wrote them all a note reminding them that she will always love them and that they did nothing wrong nor was anything their fault. She wrote a beautiful note to A and I as well. Keepers for sure.”

    What an amazing gift to them. I can’t imagine how difficult that was for her.

  5. I am still in awe of the journey you are on with these kids. I’m so glad the visit went well.

  6. Wow, that makes my heart smile and break all at the same time. She gave her children such a wonderful gift, the opportunity to have you and A as parents.
    I am just so happy for you guys. Thank you for sharing your story with all of us.

  7. I should know by now to not look at your posts while I’m at work. This one made me teary all over again. What precious gifts she has given the kids.

  8. This brought tears to my eyes – happy tears for you and the kids and sad tears for her and her journey. I’m SO happy she was able to give these gifts to the kids, especially Sprout.

  9. Amen, Amen, Amen!!! So happy for the blessing you and your babies have received.

  10. How wonderful! I am so looking forward to the day I read your blog and you tell us that all is finalized. Many, many blessings to you all.

  11. I am so glad the visit went well. Hugs to your family!

  12. As usual, your post made me cry.
    It sounds like their birth mom has made some peace with everything. I’m so happy for the babies she was able to provide them with some memories, and such a nice note.

  13. As well as it could have, just as you said. Your children have already been impacted by so many brave, strong women in their short lives! So glad they have such wonderful keepsakes from one of the earliest, no matter what happens from here.

  14. So so so wonderful. This makes my heart swell.

  15. It sounds like it couldn’t have gone any better. What wonderful, thoughtful, keepsakes for your children to have forever.

  16. So glad to read this update. I’m so glad for Sprout. Of course I’m glad for the girls too, but I know that Sprout will carry this in his heart…always.

  17. I’m so glad that I caught this update, even if WAY late! It made me cry to see that this visit turned out how it did. I’m so happy that she came through for you when it really mattered. What wonderful gifts that these kiddos will have to cherish forever. You and A are amazing and I can’t wait to hear all that the future holds for your family!

Trackbacks

Leave a comment