A baby for my birthday?

For those of you following along at home, the current stats are:
~9 months since we submitted our application
~4 months from the completion of training/home study and
1 very empty nursery

For the past 3 months we’ve pretty much heard nothing on the status of our licensing and regardless of the number of people i reached out to or complaints I made, no one could do anything to help me…besides telling me “it’ll just be a couple more weeks”…yeah right.  

Finally, Andrea got a call from D.CF last Friday and was informed that we had been assigned to a new social worker.  So, we met with the new SW today and the first words out of her mouth were “I owe you a huge apology” – yup, i liked her already.   She proceeded to be honest with us saying that she really had no idea why our file sat around for so long and that D.CF had really dropped the ball on getting us licensed – its been nine months and they haven’t even run our background check yet! 

Apparently she’s only been with the department a week and she was transferred specifically to take care of all the outstanding applications and could-be foster parents.  She really seems to be diving in head first so I have confidence that she’ll do just that. 

At the end of our meeting, she said she and her supervisor set a goal to have us licensed by the end of the month and taking placements by the first week of October. 

Well, my bday is October 8th and that would be one of the sweetest gifts I could imagine.

4 Comments to “A baby for my birthday?”

  1. What wonderful news!! I’m so glad to hear that you have someone on your side who sounds like she’s totally on the ball! This is great!!

  2. Terrific news!! I’m glad you got an apology and a great timeline!

  3. Hooray for progress! I love competent people! 🙂

  4. That’s so great that she’s taking over. I hope she is able to get everything straightened out and completed and you get a placement ASAP!

Leave a Reply

