Cheers

Happy chatter, laughter, and the clink of forks meeting plates swirled around our dining room table filled with family on Christmas day.  Across from me, I saw a little Sprout hand raise his glass and get everyone’s attention in a moment when he announced: “Lets do cheers!”

“Okay honey, what will we say cheers to?”

“Happy Birthday to Jesus and happy family to us!!”

I spend a lot of time thinking about what we are doing wrong, but in that moment, I knew we must be doing something right.

Happy Birthday to Jesus and happy family, indeed.

10 Comments to “Cheers”

  1. You are doing so many things right… 🙂

  2. *sniff, sniff* Beautiful!

  3. Awwww. Such wisdom from a little guy. What a happy, happy family you must be. Cheers, sweetie darlings!

  4. I just love that kid! You are doing all kinds of right 🙂

  5. He’s the sweetest. Happy Birthday to Jesus, and happy family to us all indeed. 🙂

  6. Aww…that just totally gave me goosebumps. What a fantastic holiday memory. Sprout is wise beyond his years, what a sweetheart.

  7. Cheers, indeed to two wonderful mommies doing LOTS right. And to a beautiful happy family & happy 2011!

  8. My NY gift to you–another blog I like and thought you might. I don’t have a blog, so this is the only way I know to share it. You have similar stories, and both are beautiful writers. For your, you know, spare time. 😉

    http://begayaboutit.wordpress.com/2010/12/31/amazing-grace/

    Hope this isn’t breaking any blog-iquette.

  9. So, I tried to share this website with you, but it didn’t go through… maybe because I was breaking blog-iquette, or maybe because I had typed the whole thing. If I am rude, please delete me. But, I thought you might like this blog–another beautiful writer like you, with a similar family & similar struggles. Something to read for your, you know, free time.

    begayaboutit dot wordpress dot com

Leave a Reply

