Q & A: Part 1

1) What exactly do you do when you aren’t raising babies?

I’m a litigation consultant for an insurance company.  I manage large dollar lawsuits for companies that buy insurance from the company for whom I work.  Basically I spend my days negotiating, doing paperwork, and staring longingly at photos of my wife and kids.

2) As a SAHM, I always wonder how moms who work outside the house get everything done. How do you juggle it all? What does a typical week day look like?

How do I juggle it all? Well, I don’t.  My house is never spotless and there is always a pile of laundry needing to be done.  But, I’ve come to realize that I need to work for my sanity.  I really like peeing by myself a few times a day and drinking my coffee while it’s still hot.  I give stay (work) at home moms a lot of credit!

A day in the life:

5:30am: Alarm goes off.  Hit snooze 2 or 3 times.

6am-ish: We finally drag ourselves out of bed and commence the morning frenzy in which we somehow manage to get everyone washed, dressed, fed and into the car.  Most of the time we also remember to take the dog out and feed all the animals.

7am-ish: A heads off to drop the kids at daycare and then to work.  I usually stay behind for a bit to pick up the house or do some dishes.

7:45am:  Arrive at work and stop in the lobby for a cup of coffee. This step is crucial.

7:50-4:30pm ish: See #1.

4:45pm: Race home to see the kids and A (they get home much earlier)

5pm: Throw some kind of something for dinner into the oven/onto the stove/into the microwave.  While it cooks we play or take a walk or do workbooks (we’re trying to get Sprout caught up on his letter and number recognition and writing his name).

by 6pm: We’ve eaten and cleared the dishes.

6-7pm: Either baths or more playing/workbook time.  One night a week we head to the library for story time.

7pm: Bed time routine. Brush teeth, pjs, books, bottle for the baby, back rubs and lights out.

7:30pm: Pack lunches, make bottles, prep dinner and pick out clothes for the next day.  Load and run the dishwasher.  Do a load of laundry.

9pm: Flop exhausted onto the couch, snuggle the spouse, and watch something off DVR.

10pm: Bed time.

That’s a rough outline anyway.  To make it real-life, sprinkle in a few doctors appointments, late meetings, temper tantrums, play dates, and an errand or two! 

Thanks for the questions and for reading! More answers to come…

One Comment to “Q & A: Part 1”

  1. 5:30 AM? Ouch. I’d rather drink my coffee cold at 9am 😉

Leave a Reply

