Poor Peanut

Rosebud had her two month appointment and I was so excited to see how well she’s doing! Our peanut is up to 11lbs 12 oz and 22 1/2 inches long.  A little above average on weight and a little below on height (don’t I know how that goes!) – which is awesome considering she barely even made it on the growth chart at birth.  She also showed off her wonderful personality (pre-shots) and gave the doc a bunch of big smiles.  What a flirt.

And then it was time for the vaccinations.  It was awful. A-W-F-U-L.  My sweet, good-natured Rosebud nearly threw up she was crying so hysterically.  Nothing would soothe her and I fell apart inside.  I know opinions about vaccines are personal to those who hold them, but being someone who doesn’t necessarily agree with the traditional vaccination schedule, it was so hard to see her tiny body pumped full of 4 vaccinations and even harder to see the bad reaction.  I am going to pray that I’m never forced into that situation again  ::sigh::

My poor little girl has been running a low grade fever since yesterday evening and hasn’t slept consecutively for more than an hour.  It’ll be an early bed time for all of us tonight.

2 Comments to “Poor Peanut”

  1. I feel your pain, so so sorry.

  2. It’s so hard to put these kids through things like this. I too disagree with the traditional vaccination schedule, but of course, when we got Simeon he was behind, so they did all of his regular shots, plus some that he had missed. They didn’t even let me take him to my pediatrician. We had to go to the health dept. (yuck!) with one of our service providers.

    Every once in a while there are those little reminders that these kids are only technically ours and for a time.

Leave a Reply

