Saw Bio Mom for the first time in over a year

And it was a successful visit!  First and foremost, Blossom is doing just fine.  Cared for, loved, and showed definite attachment to BM (when it was getting close to nap time, she grabbed her binkie, climbed into mom’s lap, and put her head on her chest).  I’ve never seen mom so nurturing – it was really quite healing to watch.

While Sprout was incredibly excited at the idea of seeing mom, he was a bit shy and standoff-ish with her.  It didn’t seem to bother her in any way…she got on the floor and played race cars in a kind attempt to connect.  Rosebud and Blossom had a more neutral response to seeing her, as expected.  The really good news is that aside from some sensitivity and acting a bit “worn down”, we’ve had no real fall out from Sprout on the news of his sister’s reunification or seeing mom.  Though I’m still watching my back on that one.

Our relationship with BM seemed to pick right back up where we left off and she expressed interest in getting together again soon.  Couldn’t ask for anything more than that.

So then I relayed a quick message to the former foster family to let them know Blossom was doing okay and wrapped it up with

I can imagine that this message comes with a lot of mixed feelings and I’m sorry if it causes you hurt in any way, but I figured I’d pass it along, because I know if it were me, I’d be dying to know how my baby was doing. We are going to do everything in our power to watch over your sweet girl.

Ugh, sobering.  The roller coaster chugs on.

3 Comments to “Saw Bio Mom for the first time in over a year”

  1. Ugh, your message to their foster dads breaks my heart. But, I’m sure they are so grateful to know she is doing well. What a tangled mess of emotion. xo

  2. 😦 Poor dads. Hopefully they find some relief in knowing that Blossom is doing well.

  3. Also, do you think BM would ever be open to communication with the dads? Would they even be open to that, or would it be too hard?

Leave a Reply

