My Village

I absolutely believe that it takes a village to raise a child.  Or, at least, all parties are better off when it does.  Of course I do – I’m a foster parent. 

Sometimes, though, I get down on myself for the size of my village, or the availability, or something.  I find myself getting jealous of the type of support other people might have. 

This past weekend was exactly the reminder I needed – a weekend away with friends to remind me that I do have an incredible village. 

I got the chance to get together with some of my village and it was lovely.  We chatted, laughed, enjoyed sunshine, and chased after toddlers.  If Sprout ran ahead, I didn’t have to worry, because J was there and I knew she’d handle it if anything came up.  There was always an extra eye and reminder from one of the moms to ‘stay close’ if Rosebud strayed too far.  At one point Sprout was off with one mom and Rosebud was off with another, and for those few blissful moments the only child I was responsible for was Daisy.  That never happens!  It was such a strange (wonderful!) feeling to let go a little.  To have full trust in any of those women – to share in the parenting, even if only for a moment or two. 

See how relaxed I looked??

I was reminded just how lucky I am.  I have a group of like-minded women who support me in my parenting, cheer me on through whatever life holds, challenge me in a way that grows my thinking, and are there to listen on the bad days.  It doesn’t matter that these woman aren’t down the street from me.  What matters is that I am a stronger woman and better mother because of them.

Thank YOU for being a part of my village.

 

4 Comments to “My Village”

  1. How fitting that this was my 500th post! yay 🙂

  2. Jealous of the fun ya’ll got to have! 🙂 You are awesome mommy E!

  3. I’m a little teary E. It was amazing having you all here, and I’m already looking forward to next year!! 🙂 I know I’ve told you before, but I’ll say it again: you are my “momspiration” and I’m so glad to have you to bounce things off of. And it was great to watch you in action!

    And yay 500!

  4. Our village rocks! With your mothering skill set, I nominate you for Mayor 😉

Leave a Reply

