Mommy Got a New Job – XP

working-mom-275x300

As if being a working mom isn’t hard enough, I recently decided to go ahead and complicate my life by job searching.  It was time for me to take the next step in my career – something I had been putting off for a bit while I had babies at home.  Advancing your career as a mom of young children is just not easy.  You see, I had a decently sweet gig where I was.  Plenty of flexibility and as good of a home-life balance as one could find anywhere in corporate America – and, as you all know, those perks are gold with 3 kiddos at home.  It was hard for me to wrap my head around giving that up, even in exchange for more money and a higher title.  But, perhaps I could find both?

So I got myself into the interview circuit (sidenote: OMG, when did interviewing become a marathon sport?? 6 interviews for 1 position?  I’m not looking to be CEO!).  As I was asked questions about my experience, interests, and commitment, my mind was swirling with questions like, “Would they be okay with a quick exit after getting a call from the school nurse?” and “How would my co-workers feel about my phone calls with my kids a couple times a week?” or, “What is their orthodontia coverage?”  It’s a big no-no to discuss kids during a job interview, but how would I get at these important questions without tipping my hand? I hadn’t interviewed since my pre-kid days and the stakes were so different now – higher, really.

Ultimately I accepted a position with a new company – one that was small-ish, had a friendly/casual feel, and plenty of other motherhood-age women walking around.  It was certainly a good sign when I walked by the ‘lactation room’ on my way to the conference room.  And, it didn’t hurt that they gave me the highest offer!

Now my thoughts turn to things like getting to know my co-workers – gah! I wish I was better at remembering names!  And impressing the pants off my supervisor so when that call from the school nurse does come in, I’ll have have some ‘good grace’ points in reserve.  Oh, and let’s not forget the fun that is outing myself to 100 new people!

 

One Comment to “Mommy Got a New Job – XP”

  1. Congratulations on the new job! You are going to be their favorite rock star 🙂

Leave a Reply

