A Day in the Life (XP)

This was my contribution to a blog series they are running over on CT Working Moms

6:30 – My wife’s alarm goes off.  Actually, it probably went off a while ago but I finally hear it after a few snoozes.  She heads off to the shower while I check my email. Odd, I don’t hear the girls yet.

6:40 – Wife races upstairs to remind me that I need to put a car seat back in the SUV so she can take our son to daycare.  I curse myself and my darn procrastination.  The SUV is filled to the brim with stuff from our big adoption party last weekend so the next 15 minutes is spent cleaning it out AND installing the car seat.  Far too much exertion for a pre-coffee Elise.

6:55 – Back in the house, time to give one of our dogs her eye drops.  Have I mentioned that along with our 3 adopted children we have 3 adopted dogs? 

My wife likes to joke that my next big project will be a documentary called ‘Addicted to Adoption’ but I totally googled that shit and there are plenty of people who have adopted way more than me. So there.

7:00 – I still don’t hear the girls – that’s craziness.  I take advantage by hopping in the shower.

7:15 – Wife and son are heading out.  Hugs and kisses and “Please stay close to your teacher at the farm today!”  He’s 6 and field trips still freak me out.

7:20 – I pushed my luck…girls are yelling. “Mama! Maaaaamaaaaaa!” and the ultimate, “I have to go poop!”  I grab their cups of milk and head upstairs.

Side note: I find their different crib styles so funny.  My middle daughter has no less than 4 stuffed animals, 2 blankets, a couple books, and who know what else in there at any given time.  Hoarders: Toddler Edition.  The youngest prefers her crib completely barren – no lovies, no blankets, no nothing.  Doesn’t bode well for her future spouse.

8:00 – After getting everyone dressed, fed, teeth brushed, shoes on, and the dogs out one more time, we are finally in the car.  Except, I forgot my keys – grab them, then back into the car.  FYI: ‘baby brain’ does not just apply to those who have birthed babies.

8:30 – We arrive at the dentist right on time for our appointment. Yes, I’m starting my day by taking two toddlers to the dentist solo.  Please note I still haven’t had any coffee.  This should go well.

9:30 – There was some fussing by the 1 year old, but overall it was a successful trip – no cavities! Back in the car and off to daycare.  This time, we are stopping for coffee.

10:00 – We arrive at daycare and the girls are in good spirits. Yay! Maybe this will be a quick drop off?

10:30 – Ummm, no.  I’m back in the car but barely made it out of there alive. It’s so much worse now that the baby is talking and I have to leave the building hearing her scream, “No mama bye bye!! Want mama!!”  Ugh.

11:00 – I finally arrive at work ::whew::  Check email, review insurance policies, talk with some lawyers.

12:30 – How is it 12:30 already?? I should grab lunch before my afternoon meeting. Going downstairs to the cafe reminds me that I really should be better about packing my lunch.  It just so happens that the vendor today is selling lunch totes. 

Cute, right?

As for lunch, it’s a salad again.  Because I’m trying to lose weight, you know, again.

4:30 – Quittin’ time!  Pack up my desk, grab my purse and I’m out.

5:00 – Arrive home minutes after my wife and kids.  The moment we all arrive home in the evening is c-h-a-o-s.  It feels like there are kids and dogs everywhere.  But, the happy squeals of “Mommy’s home!” and big hugs around the neck also make it my very favorite time of day. Aaaaahhh, I’m home 🙂

5:15 – After our hellos and unpacking bags I get the wife and big kids set up at the table with a craft project.  The kids are excited to make necklaces with a kit they got from cousin Dave! 

That gives me a chance to change my clothes and make dinner in peace. Well, relative peace with this little “helper”.

6:00 – Kids are done eating and I’ve barely gotten a forkful in between the requests for water, milk, more dinner, and toddler potty breaks.  ::sigh::  Why do I even bother making myself a plate?  The kids are chomping at the bit for the leftover cupcake I let them save from their adoption party so I pass those out. 

Against my better judgment I also give one to the baby.  Not that she actually consumed any of it.

6:05 – Clearly, its bath time.

7:00 – Kids are all washed up and I’ve managed to eat and check a few emails while supervising their splashing around.  Yes, I just admitted to eating my dinner in the bathroom.  I live a glamorous life people. Very glamorous.

7:05 – My son is set up at the dinner table with his summer workbook while I help my wife bring the girls upstairs for bed.  Milk, story, brush teeth, and she puts them to bed.  I head back downstairs and sit with my son while he does his work.

7:30 – Brush teeth, book, and some cuddles for my boy before I kiss him goodnight.

7:40 – Oh right, I forgot to feed the dogs.

7:50 – Put on my sneakers, kiss my wife and it’s off to the gym. Not really feeling it tonight, but I go anyway.

7:55 – I pull out of my driveway and follow a freaking ICE CREAM TRUCK all the way to the gym.  Whoever it was up above that arranged that one? To you I say: well played.

8:45 – The sky as I leave the gym is beautiful. It feels like extra validation because I totally rocked that C25K workout!

9:00 – I’m back home and its time to give the little dogs a bath.  Thankfully, they make it quick and easy.

9:15 – Finally time to join my wife on the couch.  We watch The Bachelorette on DVR while I fold laundry (because with 3 children the laundry is NEVER ENDING).

10:15 – We head upstairs to bed (yeah, we fast forwarded a lot – DVR is a gift from the gods to parents everywhere).  Fill up the cat’s water and food on the way (yeah, we also have a cat…).  I hop on the computer to check email/facebook/blog. 

11:00 – Shoot, I need to get to bed! You know, so I can get up tomorrow and do it all.over.again.

4 Comments to “A Day in the Life (XP)”

  1. Can I tell you how much I love that you ate dinner in the bathroom?

  2. I seriously admire the skills you two have with your kids and their nighttime routine. I’m one on one with E and things always seem to take three times as long. Hats off to you ladies!

  3. I’m exhausted just reading your day!

  4. Dude, that is not what I thought your office looked like, at all! FWIW, in my mind, the internet version of you sits in a big office, lots of windows, with a big cherry wood desk. However, the cleanliness and order to the desk does not surprise me at all 😉

Leave a Reply

