What Now?

Its been a little over a month since we’ve adopted the children and the question that’s plaguing me is: What now?

It’s a strange shift to go from “foster mom” to just “mom”.  A blessed and wonderful shift, for sure, but being a foster parent has become a big part of my identity.  And when we handed in that application, we certainly never expected to be done after just a few years. 

But are we done?

Not necessarily…

It’s just tough to make plans when we never know whether or when bio sib #8 will join the scene.

Its strange not to know what’s next.

[in case you haven’t noticed, I’m a bit of an obsessive planner]

We’ve had many talks as a family and I’m sure they will continue as we take things slow and see where life leads us.  For now we’ve all agreed that our next chapter will be as respite care providers*.  It’s adorable to see Sprout and Rosebud so excited about helping other children.  It makes me think that I’m seeing a tiny glimpse of the awesome Simeon in them.  I really want my children to know the pride and indescribable fulfillment that comes with fostering; it would be such a wonderful thing to share with them.

*respite care = fancy word for overnight babysitting of other people’s foster kids.  In my area its a placement of 2 weeks or less – usually just a weekend. 

And now we are back to waiting for the phone to ring!

3 Comments to “What Now?”

  1. I definitely understand the hamster-wheel-spinning brain when we are unable to plan what’s next! What a gift to give to your children–they will be AWESOME foster siblings!

  2. Just re-read your tagline—written when you were just a family of two. And how well it applies today!

  3. Our kids ARE awesome! And this IS a hard place to be. You’ll know what’s right for you when it’s right. And you know, now that we’ve got more kids, I’m thinking we can take more. It’s kind of nut, I know, but the more you love the more you love.

    You’re going to be great at whatever you chose to do for your family. And I can’t wait to “watch” your kids become champions, too.

Leave a Reply

