This is me.

In continuation of a trend started over at the great blog CT Working Moms in which one blogger shared an open and honest account of her parenting decisions, I share with you some of mine…

This is me:

1. Both my babies started full-time daycare before the age of 2 months old.  It was hard, but not as hard as some may think. 

2. I’ve never cried dropping my children off to daycare.  I’ve also never called to check on them while they are there. It doesn’t mean I don’t love them, just that I’m confident that everything is fine – and if it isn’t, someone will call me.

3.  We rear-face car seats until 2 despite the fact that my youngest is the size of most 3 year olds and my nearly 6-year-old is still in a regular car seat with no plans to change.

4. I’ve told the kids that they won’t be sitting in the front until they are driving.  I’ve also told them no lip-kissing until they are married.  But, I might budge on that one…slightly.

5.  I haven’t yet decided if I want to be open or honest with my children about my drug/alcohol/sex history.

6.  My two toddlers still have milk as part of their bed time routine.  Its out of a sippy cup, but they still call it their ‘baba’.  It doesn’t bother me.

7.  We cloth diaper and use disposable diapers.  I made my own baby food and used plenty of jar food.  We did a little BLW and a little baby food purees.  I buy plenty of whole organic foods, and plenty of cheese-its/goldfish/fill in the blank with some other processed snack. Sometimes I use all natural baby products and sometimes I just use whatever is on hand. 

9. As a chubby mom, I wonder if people judge me for having a chubby baby.

10. I never use shopping cart covers and sometimes the baby eats off the table in restaurants.  Its better than a thrown and shattered plate.  Which I learned the hard way.

11. There aren’t many things I won’t do solo with my 3 children.  Kids play places, going out to eat, going to the grocery store? No problem.

12. I don’t give my kids juice but they do have candy on occasion.

13. We use the words ‘penis’ and ‘vagina’ and I can’t stand pet names for either.

14.  We are bare-minimalists on babyproofing.  No gates on the stairs, no locks on the toilet, no doorknob thingies.

15.  I love baby/toddler/kidwearing.  Love it, love it, love it.  And I don’t fully understand why more parents don’t utilize it.

16. Sometimes I side with my children over my wife. I will agree with whomever is right.

17.  I don’t yell at my kids.  I’ve never come across a situation in which it would be helpful or productive to do so.

18.  I can’t decide where I land on the Great Vaccine Debate.  It’s a non-issue for me since I had foster babies and everything was mandated.  But still.

19.  We start toilet-introducing by a year (even younger for Rosebud).  But the diaperless baby thing is still a little much for me.

20.  Despite the financial bummer, I’d rather use a paid babysitter than family.  One reason is that I don’t feel guilty or like I’ve put someone out, but also, I have more confience that a paid sitter will follow my instructions.

So that’s a glimpse into me.  Some agree with my decisions and others may disagree or even judge, but at the end of the day I am left with all that matters…the happy and healthy family I love to pieces.

7 Comments to “This is me.”

  1. I love this! I although I’m sure people will judge however they want, you have no idea how normal and non-guilty you make me feel when I read your posts. Everything from babysitters to the mix of organic and processed foods – I’ve been judged, made fun of, and even called a hypocrite (and then some other choice words and phrases as I’m a foster mom and apparently “shouldn’t care that much”). I made sure that I got a car seat that could rear-face for pratcically forever, and although I use a shopping cart cover I let my daughter play in the grass where I have no doubt a dog peed. I have a 14 yr old who I trust as a babysitter over some of my adult friends/family. I have only followed your blog for a short time but I always love reading it because it is refreshing to have someone who is honest about the ups, downs, good, ugly, exciting, and heartbreaking of not only fostering but motherhood. As women, I think that so often we are taught (or it is perceived) that we should act and feel a specific way about being a mother. I wouldn’t trade being a mom, and a foster mom at that, for anything, but I sure do feel guilty when I hope that they sleep a little longer or when I choose to run to the grocery store before picking her up from daycare. Instead of feeling guilty, you are teaching me that I feel normal. I think you both are incredible mothers and I hope that I can be just as awesome as you! Your family makes me smile! Thank you so much for taking the time to keep your blog going! I only have one baby and sometimes I’m not sure how I find the time to shower let alone keep a blog! 🙂

  2. Love this! Agree on many of these things…it’s funny, I get myself so wound up about choosing the right this or that food for my son, and especially did so back when I was making baby food [he’s 3 now], but then I go out and buy Goldfish and Chips Ahoy and let him eat them. I know it doesn’t make any sense but it works for us. One thing I wanted to point you to: http://www.amazon.com/Sesame-Biodegradable-Disposable-Placemat-18-Count/dp/B00193DXVK/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1336419161&sr=8-2
    I love those things. I know they aren’t green and I try to be green, but they are lifesavers when there is a yucky table and I don’t trust my little guy with a breakable plate either. We just put his food right on that placemat and he goes to town. 🙂

  3. This is a great post and I’m thrilled you were inspired by us over at CTWorkingMoms.com! Thanks for posting this! (I also don’t call to check in on my kid at daycare and I sometimes wonder if other people do, it’s good to know I’m not the only one) Also, I’m posting this to our facebook wall!

  4. WAHOO!! Love this post! I didn’t baby wear and I wanted to. I just never could feel comfortable. Audrey weighs 24lbs. Maybe you can give me some tips for my chubby baby!!!

  5. Two thumbs up. Love it!

  6. Wonderful. Very inspirational and your honesty is much MUCH appreciated!

  7. I’m coming to love the middle ground! Way more fun than a strict adherence to any one ideology, if you ask me 🙂 You have a beautiful hodgepodge middle ground!

Leave a Reply

