Adoption Day

This post is for my friend SSG – a run down of April 16th, our adoption day 🙂

The court hearing wasn’t until 2pm so the morning started pretty typically.  Get kids up, dressed, and off to daycare (Sprout, conveniently, was on spring break from school).  A went to work for a few hours while I took advantage of a rare break and did some cleaning/laundry/grocery shopping – you know, all the things that take a fraction of the time without children under foot.  Then I treated myself to a mani-pedi.  It didn’t really help me calm down.  The nerves were off the charts (which is why it was a very wise move to send the children to daycare and not feed off of my nervous energy all morning).

Just before lunch I picked up the kids so they could eat and rest at home.  Daisy actually fell asleep on the way home and I executed the car-to-crib transfer so beautifully it left me wishing there was such a thing as the mom olympics because I would totally gold medal in that event.

While the kids were resting A came home and we got ourselves ready and bags packed.  OMG.ITS.ALMOST.TIME.

Since the probate court in our town is literally 4 doors down, we waited until the last possible moment before getting the kids up and the next 5 minutes were a whirlwind of throwing clothes off, new clothes on, wash faces, lotion, brush hair, shoes on and out the door.

And we arrived at the court beautifully on time (rare for us).

[Big kids thinking: “Isn’t it funny when mommies get crazy?”.  Daisy thinking: “What just happened to me and where is my crib??”]

Then we go inside and wait.  And disturb the women who are attempting to do their jobs inches from the tiny “waiting area” with the baby fussing, Rosebud making a mess of the water cooler, and Sprout’s incessant questions (“What are we waiting for? Where is the Judge? Where is Grandma and Papa? What are those ladies doing over there?” omg.child.please.shush). 

Speaking of Grandma and Papa, the family members we invited all arrived late and forgot their cameras.  Also, Rosebud ended up poking her in the eye with a pair of sunglasses.  And she started screaming and crying.  Just as the Judge came to great us.  Lovely. 

Let’s just say that whole annoyance plus my over-the-top nerves did not make for the happy and zen moment I was imagining the adoption to be.  Looking back its silly, but at the time I was just plain pissed off.

So I get Rosebud calmed and we go into a board room a/k/a “court”.  Judge is super casual and laid back.  There are no robes or gavels or anything of the sort.  We all just pull up a seat at the table and chat about the weather and oh by the way, these are now your kids forever.

Okay, it wasnt quite that quick, but practically.  And I should mention that the Judge did say some very sweet things to the children – telling them that they are very special people to have been given an opportunity that many don’t get and he charged them with the task of being important people in this world.  I have a feeling they will rise to that assignment.

He looked at Sprout before signing the decree and asked him very seriously, “Young man, are you ready to be adopted?” and without skipping a beat Sprout responded, “Yes! I’ve been waiting for this a long time!”  The room broke into ear-to-ear smiles.  And he brought us right back to the joy and importance of the day. 

The papers were signed and their new names were read aloud (we changed last names and a couple middles).  Its official, family forever!

 

Then it was time to head to a surprise A and I had in mind for the children.  Something that they’ve always asked to do, but we have never had the right occasion.  This seemed like the perfect time.

Build-A-Bear!

This was probably the highlight of the day – so glad we did it.  The kids had a blast picking everything out and making their forever “bears”.  Very fun.

And here are the finish products:

Sprout with Alvin

Rosebud with Peanutbutter

And Daisy with Cuddles

These teddies are very loved.  They are 3 new members of our family and go everywhere with us.

See what I mean?

After that adventure we invited family to go out to a little dinner celebration.  It was the kids’ choice on what restaurant we went to.  So naturally, we ended up at Japanese.

I’m not kidding. 

These kids have a thing for hibachi.  Or, maybe its just the fire?

Either way, a delicious and enjoyable meal was had by all.  We ended the night with a very special cake made by a talented friend.

A sweet ending for this long-awaited day.

13 Responses to “Adoption Day”

  1. I was good up to build a bear, then the forever bears sent me over the crying edge. What a special day! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Such a wonderful day. Beautiful. I am so happy for you.

  3. Your story makes me hopeful! I’m a foster mom and in the long waiting game of severance trials and decisions. I feel like the process will last forever and that any moment my life can be turned upside down and that what I thought would be forever will be ripped from me instead. Your story, your family, your commitment, the fact that you made it through your long waiting game has helped me see that if you can do it, so I can I! Thank you so much for sharing. I look forward to every new post. You make me feel normal and less guilty for running errands while the baby is at daycare and for realizing that regardless of circumstance it is okay to be tired or frustrated sometimes. You and A are both such incredible inspirations. Thank you thank you for sharing!

  4. Teared up on hearing Sprout’s response: “I’ve been waiting for this a long time!” Oh little man. I’m so happy for all of you.

    And feeling emotional as we are SO CLOSE to crossing that finish line with our own little man, just a year or two younger than your Sprout.

    Glad you had a wonderful day and are finally legally the family that you have been for so long in reality.

  5. Happy, Happy *SOB!!!!!*

    I so love your family. And aren’t y’all the lucky ones! What a treasure. What treasures. Forever family is a miraculous gift to everyone.

    And I’m quite certain they will live up their charge. How could they not with great mommies behind them! Great big jumping hugs from way down here, y’all!

  6. Can’t seem to find the right words….I’m very happy for all of you and feel honored to know your family. xo!

  7. Ooooo, I’ve been waiting and waiting for this story. How amazing! How incredible. I am so excited for all of you.

  8. So wonderful!! I definitely teared up at the part where the judge told them to do big things!

  9. sounds like a beautiful day!!! 🙂

  10. “I’ve been waiting for this for a long time.” Oh, how I love Sprout.

  11. This is so wonderful….its so sweet. I feel like I may throw up LOL

  12. just found your blog today and what a blessing it has been to me! I love, love, love this post…it brought tears to my eyes! Our finalization is on the 18th of this month…just 10 days away and I am so excited! Congrats on your beautiful family! – Crystal

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

