The answer to a 2+ year long question

We gathered the children around the table and through baby babble, toddler chatter, and munching goldfish, his social worker told him that it had finally been decided.  His mother was not able to care for him (“yeah,” he said, “I didn’t have a toothbrush there”) and he would stay with us forever.

He was stoic and serious and avoided eye contact, but asked her to say it again. I didn’t necessarily expect his reaction, but I wasn’t surprised by it either.  So much to process. We talked about it for a while longer.  Talked about big feelings and missing mom.  We read one of his adoption books together. 

Then, as if a lightbulb went off, he said:

“I’m staying here forever?!  Forever and ever! And I get a new last name!!”

He is seriously excited about this new last name business.

Then the night carried on in an oddly normal way.  We finished up our visit with the social worker and met up with my dad for a church fundraiser dinner.  Saw friends, ate good food, laughed and enjoyed each other’s company until it was time to head home.

I put my sleepy boy to bed – sang a song, rubbed his back, and kissed his head.  As I was getting up to leave the room he let out a sigh and said,

“This was the best day ever.”

 

29 Responses to “The answer to a 2+ year long question”

  1. What a great post. I don’t remember anything about my adoption, but I only hope I was excited as Sprout is about his.

  2. seriously heartmelting!! SO SO excited for you and your beautiful children!

  3. This post made me smile!

  4. “This was the best day ever.”

    I just started crying in my office. I want to hug that kid so bad. I am so happy for all of you!!!! Thank you for sharing this journey with us.

  5. Didn’t have a toothbrush? Oh…I love Sprout. And he is getting the best possible outcome possible in this situation…two moms that adore him and staying with his sisters….his family. I am thrilled for all of you.

  6. WOW. You all are navigating some seriously powerful stuff with as much beauty and grace as ever. I am so, so happy for all of you that Sprout’s “Best Day Ever” came to pass, especially since I know there are so many more to come now. Also sending out hopes that the kiddos’ bio-mom gets to a place where she is able to participate in their lives to the extent you all decide is best.

  7. OMG…this made me cry at my desk. My heart is flying. 🙂 I am so happy for you and your family.

    Congrats on the best day ever!!!!!!

  8. Yep. Crying at my desk.
    So happy for you and your family!

  9. Add another to the list of tearing up at my desk. It seems like he’s finally feeling some peace about everything. I’m so happy for him & the rest of your family.

  10. Beautiful. I am crying at my desk, too.

  11. Yep, tears over at this desk too. It must be such a huge relief for Sprout to know that he’ll be able to stay at a home that can provide him with a toothbrush and stability and consistency and all of the other things he needs. And you guys also provide him with the space to sort out all of his complicated feelings about his bio-mom’s inability to provide those things. The best day ever, indeed.

  12. “This was the best day ever.”
    I am just so so so happy for you guys!! I hope you all have many many more “best days ever”. xoxo

  13. Add another mommy with tears streaming down her face at work… I am so glad to hear things went as well as they did for Sprout. What an exciting time for all of you. Sending lots of hugs from E and I to all of you!!!

  14. So amazing and so beautiful. I am crying happy tears for you.

  15. 🙂 Cheers to a million more “best days ever!”

  16. “This was the best day ever…” Yeah. 🙂

  17. Amen. Amazing, aren’t they?

    You know, Simeon was most excited about his new last name, too. In fact, he still tells people all the time. We added a middle name, too (he now has two middle names) so that he carried a family name. Anyway, he absolutely LOVES his name. So on adoption day, after we walked out of the judges chambers, Leo presented Simeon with a “Hello my name is…” badge that has his new name printed on it.

    We had it laminated and put on a pin so that we could pin it to his shirt. He LOVED it!!! And I think that was one of my most favorite moments from that day.

  18. I just went all to puddles in my office. How amazing. “I get to stay here forever and ever!”

    It really was an awesome day, little does Sprout know, the best is really yet to come.

    I’m so thrilled of all of you.

  19. your last line brought tears to my eyes. Congratulations to your whole family!

  20. the best day ever I guess that just says it all.. I am so happy for all of you!!

  21. Wow, thanks for sharing such important moments in your family’s history. I’m sure this will be one you’ll never forget. So special!

  22. heartwarming.
    I am sure it is a lot to process, but it sounds like Sprout is really happy inside!

  23. PSA: Don’t read stories about Sprout and then go to Foster Parent class. If you must, at least bring lots of kleenex.

    Cried every time I think of him. Now that he has felt “good care” hopefully it won’t be so easy to blame himself for the less than good care he received in the past. Even he understands it’s not his fault mom didn’t give him a toothbrush.

    Closure. Sigh of relief for all of you.

  24. I have been thinking of you all so much since you first let us know about the TPR. And every time, my eyes well up.

    I’m just so happy for you, and I think even moreso for Sprout. I’m so happy that he doesn’t have to leave you. What I’ve gotten to know of him here, and the little bit in person has made such an impression. He is such a special little guy, and I’m just so glad that he can have that peace of “forever.”

    Big internet hugs to you all.

  25. So sweet. Congratulations!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

