Bless your heart mall Santa

We took the kids to see Santa this weekend.  It went well – meaning RB did not scream and cry and refuse to sit on his lap.  Sure, she’s got a big puss on her face in the photo, but she’s not crying like last year’s pic so it’s a win.  She was actually really enthralled with Santa this year which was a lot of fun.  All the kids were.  After the photo, they got a chance to chat with Santa a bit. 

Daisy was beside herself – someone else as jolly and happy and cuddly as her?!? She didn’t cry when I put her on his lap,  like most babies.  Instead, she cried when I took her off!

RB was really into the magic of it all and asked “Santa come house? Bring presents?” To which Santa replied, “Yes, if you are a good girl. What would you like Santa to bring you?”  With a big smile on her face she softly said, “lipstick pwease.” 

I’m not making this up.  My 2-year-old just asked Santa for LIPSTICK for Christmas.  I have no idea what we are going to do with that one.

But that’s not even the best of it.  ‘Cause then it was Sprout’s turn. 

He politely told Santa his name and address, that he was a good boy at school, and could he please have a spiderman toy for Christmas?  Santa reminded him to also be a good boy at home [high-five santa!] and then, yes, he could have a spiderman toy.

So we grabbed our bags and started herding our squirrels out of there – quite pleased with a successful Santa trip.

And that’s when Sprout stopped, turned to Santa, and asked with furrowed brows, “Why didn’t you come to my house when I lived with [bio mom]?”

Oh hot damn.  I don’t think they cover questions like that in Santa prep school.

But bless his rosy-cheeked heart, that Santa was able to think on his toes. “Oooooh, you are Sprout?!  I was hoping you’d come to see me! You see, there was a terrible miscalculation in my directions that year and I missed your house.  I’m sorry to say that even Santa makes mistakes sometimes.  Would you like to wish for one more toy this year to make up for it?”

Relief spread across Sprout’s face.  Yes, that answer makes sense. It was just a mistake.

“Yes please. Spo.nge Bob silly bands.  And do you know the Easter Bunny?”

“Oh yes, we are good friends.”

“You can tell him its okay he missed my old house too.”

27 Responses to “Bless your heart mall Santa”

  1. That is one amazing Santa. What a good answer to such a heartbreaking question.

  2. Okay, that made me cry. People like him renew my faith in mankind! And Sprout, oh bless his heart… xoxo

  3. Oh this made me tear up. Sweet little Sprout.

  4. Tears streaming down my face. Sprout is such a sweet kid.

  5. Oh wow. This made me teary too. Santa handled it so well.

  6. Oh, my. That is so sweet and heartbreaking.

  7. That Santa is a pro…and now i must go fix my make up.

  8. My heart swelled for Santa and broke for Sprout. You should write a note care of mall management to thank Santa for his quick thinking and ability to disarm a really difficult situation. I am sure Santa would appreciate it. 🙂

  9. Oh my goodness, bless mall santa’s heart. That is by far the sweetest thing I have ever heard.

    And now I’m crying at my desk.

    Such a wonderful story.

  10. You made me cry, too! You should write this up for Reader’s Digest or something so other Santas can read the story and learn from it. How awesome!

  11. First RB, then Sprout made me tear up. Such sweet babies and what a terrific Santa.

  12. Mall Santa deserves a big Christmas bonus – I echo Alison’s suggestion to write a letter. 🙂 What a sweet story, and what a nice piece of closure on the issue for Sprout. Hopefully Santa (and his helpers ;)) can make this a wonderful Christmas for three kids and two mommies who obviously deserve it!

  13. That made me tear up – what a sweet, vulnerable moment so thankfully met with the exact right response.

  14. Tearing up here too. Bless that sweet Santa and his quick thinking. And Sprout…sigh. Love that little boy.

  15. ok and crying here. I thought I was having a crappy day and then I am reminded about how great my life is. Those kids are so lucky to have you. That santa was a great guy and quick on his feet. Santa’s rule.

  16. Sweet Sprout. I hope his heart was healed a little bit. That Santa was amazing!

  17. P.S. RB and her lipstick…so freaking cute!

  18. Torn between tears and a huge smile.

  19. You & Santa gave that kid his childhood magic back.

  20. Aww… that brought a tear to my eye! I am so glad that Santa had a great answer to Sprout’s heart breaking question.

  21. Oh my gosh. How did you keep it together? I’m crying into my coffee. What an awesome Santa!

  22. Your posts always make me cry–I need to stop reading them at work! What a great Santa. I am really glad Sprout has you to help him heal and that the girls have you to help them not need to heal from as much.

  23. This is so incredibly heartwarming.

  24. bless his heart!!

  25. I have no words for how sweet your sprout is….and rock on mall santa!

  26. This is too much. So close to home. Our children get a chance at some reason, some excuse. Our children get a chance at forgiveness. So many children out there do not. Bless that man. Bless Simeon. Bless y’all.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

