In Honor Of: International Babywearing Week

Babywearing Week

There are so many things I enjoy about wearing my babies: the ease and convenience, the closeness, the ability kiss and sniff their little heads as many times as I please, seeing them enjoy it just as much as I do, the effectiveness (when Rosebud was little, we called the ergo our ‘instant sleep machine’). 

But there is something else I love about it too.  As a woman who tried but did not achieve a pregnancy, there is something so healing about having my baby wrapped tightly to my belly.  To have her be so relaxed right up against me.  Feeling her every hiccup and tiny movement.  To have her so close that I forget where her skin ends and mine begins.  I wasn’t able to be the one to carry her for those first 9 months, but I can now.

There is this quote that used to break my heart a little any time I came across it:

“Nobody will ever know the strength of my love for you, after all you’re the only one who knows what my heart sounds like from the inside”

Well, it doesn’t carry the same sting for me any more.  I’m pretty sure my angel is very familiar with the sound of my heart…

as she should be, since it beats her name.

5 Responses to “In Honor Of: International Babywearing Week”

  1. Love, love, love! And I’ve always loved wearing the babies. I’ve always used a sling, but for the last little bit we had, my friend let us borrow her moby. I think it was the same one you have in your picture, there. It was amazing. I think it did wonders to get our little bit started on the right foot.

  2. “as it should be since it beats her name.”

    ::tears::

    You speak my heart E. Truly. Beautiful.

  3. What a sweet, beautiful babywearing picture. I love wearing not only babies but also my foster-toddler. When he’s sick or sleepy it’s so lovely having him so close to me and so secure. A great way to foster attachment in the foster and adopted little ones!

  4. “as it should be since it beats her name.”

    You just gave me chills. LOVE your blog.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

