On meeting his mom

“Hey Sprout, what would you think about me meeting mommy someday soon?”

“No.”

“Hmm, those are strong feelings.  This meeting wouldn’t change anything, we just want to get to know each other. Why do you think that’s a bad idea?”

“You two are just…[long pause] different.  Very different.”

8 Comments to “On meeting his mom”

  1. Wow. It’s really powerful to hear him articulate his awareness of the two different worlds he has his toes in. Tiny humans are so amazing.

  2. From the mouths of babes!

  3. I imagine he’s right. Wild isn’t it? How much they percieve? I hope his heart can reconcile it all.

  4. Sprout is so darn observant. He really says the most thoughtful things.

  5. Very smart. Very, very smart. They really just know things, these kids. Will you still go?

  6. How does that inform your decision to meet her (or not)?

  7. Oh, Sprout. I can’t help but think he’s been given a strange gift. When I was 5, 10 maybe even 12, I thought all families were pretty much like mine. Except the really bad ones. It wasn’t until I was in my twenties that I could see that my family is a wacky little culture, and someone else’s (say, Croi’s) family is their own wacky little culture. Not bad, just different. He knows that so young.

    I hope all goes well, and I am sending you peace and open ears. (Well, not you, but the event.)

Leave a Reply

