What I’ve learned about being gay

that I will teach my children about being black.

  • Never assume you are not welcome somewhere before assuming that you are.  Give people an opportunity to surprise you.  Give then an opportunity to surprise themselves.
  • You count.  Your vote counts, your presence counts, your dollar counts.  Don’t support something you don’t support.  Don’t like something? Change it.
  • Your difference is the greatest gift you’ve ever been given, even on the days it will feel like your curse.
  • If people hate you, its only because they don’t know you.
  • Your best angle is with your chin up.  Your smile is most radiant when it isn’t hiding a thing.
  • The best way to combat stereotypes is to defy them.  The best way to combat discrimination is to live your life well.  Never let hate disturb your grace.
8 Responses to “What I’ve learned about being gay”

  1. You so eloquently put into words the way so many of us other foster/adoptive families feel.

    :o)

  2. I like your wisdom.

    I think it’s a very good thing to separate giving others an opportunity to feel good about themselves, and the expectation that they behave in a particular way to support our self esteem. 2 different things!

  3. Love this. 🙂

  4. perfect. something I think we should all believe regardless of race, handicap or orientation.

  5. I love this. I even forwarded it on to my girl. And we both got a little verklempt. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Thanks for sharing this. I want to use it to remind me of the important things I need to teach my son 🙂

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

