Sweet Boy

I noticed early on that it was very powerful to say to Sprout, “I am glad you are here.”  I told him over and over and over again – sometimes 10 or 20 times a day.  “I’m glad you are here.” “I’m so happy to know you.” “You are welcome here.”

For the first 6 to 9 months, he would respond by shouting “Don’t say that!” or “I aint tryin’ to hear you!”  But regardless of his words, his voice would soften and the tantrums would calm. 

After that he would mostly ignore me or respond with an oh-so-pleasant eye roll and “I kno-wah. You said that before.”

Last night I was tucking him into bed and whispered into his ear the things I always do. “You are important.  You are kind.  You are sunshine. I’m glad you are here.”

I thought he was drifting off to sleep. I thought he wasnt really listening.  But as I made my way to the door I heard a little “mommy?”  I turned to find his bright eyes and awesome smile.  “I like it when you say that. Do it again?”

Oh sweetheart.  I’m so glad you are here.”

12 Responses to “Sweet Boy”

  1. Omg, my heart just melted to a puddle.

  2. LOVE!!! We have an awesome job of watching miracles happen, don’t we? I pray he continues to drink deeply all the love and affirmation you pour into his little heart.

  3. *happy tears* You are amazing.

  4. You E, you sure know how to turn me in to a melty, teary pile!

  5. I totally have tears in my eyes – that’s so sweet.

  6. I’m so happy you found each other 🙂

  7. Oh, that kid! So touching.

    Would you mind sharing more of the phrases you have used or where you got them from? Is there a book~or are they just a magical part of you from God?

    Ex. When the kids first came, how did you explain things. “Mom is sick?” “Mom can’t take care of you right now?” “You are going to live with us…for awhile?”

    Thanks, E!

  8. once again crying at my desk, love this kid….

  9. OMG…that little sweetheart…

  10. Tears here too…thanks for sharing the awesomeness with us.:)

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

