Healthy is Fun

I’ve been overweight – significantly over – my entire life.  I’m an adult now and the bottom line is that I’m the one that controls what I eat and how physical I am.  There is no one else at fault for my weight, but there are a number of things I could point to in my childhood that have contributed.

The weight issue has been my constant struggle. The thing I just can’t seem to beat.  The thing I dislike most about myself.  And it is the thing I’m going to try my damndest to change for my children.

So this summer we put quite a bit of energy into creating a healthier family lifestyle.  First up was joining a local crop share where we “bought into” a farm in the spring and were able to take home a box of local, fresh, beautiful produce every other week throughout the summer (and they are still coming!).   Here are two examples of the boxes we brought home:

yummm

The kids loved going to the farm! It was a lot of fun to see what was in the box and find recipes to try out new veggies or those we don’t eat very often. The kids happily chowed down on eggplant, kale, squash and many others they wouldn’t have touched previously.

Then I wanted to tackle exercise.  I was a member of a gym…which mostly just meant that I had the scan card on my key ring, not so much that I actually ever went… It was just so hard to leave the kids after working out of the home 45+ hours a week.  So I found a local stroller fitness class which allowed me to work out while spending time with the babies.  Win! Until the class got canceled… So then I implemented family exercise nights.  We’ve always been very active (walks, bike riding, hiking, you name it) but I don’t know that I had ever really introduced the term ‘exercise’ to them.  Well, as it turns out, kids LOVE exercise.  Running laps, jumping jacks, lunges, they like it all! And watching them be silly and enjoy it makes it that much easier for me to get in a few more reps.  Sprout especially likes when its his turn to be the “instructor”.  That kid is tough.

“Another lap?? really buddy??”

“Yes mommy! You can do it! Come on!”

Now the goal is to keep up with these changes and that’s all on me because the kids will happily continue for as long as I offer.  This is the bottom line: There is no reason for my children to be an excuse for poor eating and not working out, unless I want them to be.

10 Responses to “Healthy is Fun”

  1. “There is no reason for my children to be an excuse for poor eating and not working out, unless I want them to be.” I need to tattoo this on my body. it is so true and something I do. Nice job! 🙂

  2. You are setting such an example for your kids right now. I’ve done it (then I gained half of it back) now I’m trying to do it again. It’s not easy, but it is do-able. We loved our crop share, too. And so cool that your kids can visit the farm. Let me know if there is any way I can help. (recipes… whatever…?)

  3. We really should be neighbors. I’m 17 pounds down since June! It’s not been a diet, or a push to “burn” it off. It’s been lifestyle and you’re right, the kids love it. Simeon talks about how my big belly is getting smaller and I’m getting stronger just like him. He even got me out walking the other day.

    It’s soooo worth it!

  4. That’s so great! I love the picturing Sprout as the instructor!

  5. Your crop share pictures are making me drool. Are those fresh, local blueberries?!

    Love this post, and love that you have found fun ways to integrate exercise into your family life. I would do well to take a page from your book… as usual. 🙂

  6. Good for you!! These are awesome changes.

    I’m feeling the same way and started by revamping my breakfasts and adding a salad before dinner every night. Gwen is such a great eater (not to mention a little mover and shaker!), and I want her to keep that as she grows up. The best way to ensure that, is to model it for her. I’m keeping that in mind when I want to go for the bowl of pasta instead of a side of veggies. I know that my example will help her to keep her love of veggies and fruits, to help her be a healthier person. It makes the changes much easier to keep up with.

    And go Sprout! He sounds like a great personal trainer!! 🙂 I need him to come over and whip my behind into gear.

  7. Wow. Wow, wow, wow. You’ve taken such an important step by adopting that mindset. It makes me sooo proud to see you giving this gift to your children. WAY TO GO!!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

