What did I say?

Well, the question caught me so off guard that I don’t know that I answered it the best way possible, and I have to be particularly careful when I speak of adoption because things can sound quite different when relayed to bio mom through the voice and understanding of a 5 year old.  But I suppose it’s as good of a time as any to start the conversation.

So, I began by explaining that she wasn’t really calling him names because ‘adopted’ isn’t a name or a bad word, it’s just another way that God makes families.  I used our adopted pets as the example: 

“Lilly’s first mom was the mom that made her in her belly.  But she wasn’t able to take care of her anymore so Lilly needed a new family.  Mommy A and I adopted her and even though we weren’t the ones who made her in our belly, we are her mommies now.”

“Where’s Lilly’s mommy dog?”

“I don’t know.  There are lots of different reasons why kids and dogs and cats need new parents, but God makes sure they find families to keep them safe and loved.”

“Like being a foster parent?”

“It does sound pretty similar doesn’t it?”

“Yeah.  Wanna play play dough?”

And that was the extent of that…for now.

::whew::

8 Comments to “What did I say?”

  1. Sounds perfect to me. I think I’ll keep that pet story in my back pocket. We use the word adoption all the time and he’s never asked about it. That’s a good one.

    Also, we really like the therapist yesterday. He seems like he may be a good fit for all of us. We only had our introductory visit, so not a lot of help yet. Here’s to hoping!

    Hope y’all have a fabulous fourth!

  2. Fantastic! I’m more relieved than you know to hear that. Wishing your family a fun and carefree weekend – you deserve it!

  3. That was a great reply. I love it.

  4. Great answer! Thank heavens he was satisfied, for now 🙂

  5. Oh, that’s so sweet.

  6. That sounds like a great answer/conversation! Hope you had fun playing playdoh!

  7. It sounds like you handled that beautifully!! You really were made for this E.

  8. Sounds perfect to me too!
    I think even at 17 Alli still cringes a little if people say “adopted”. We’ve tried so hard to make it all about the positive, but I think it boils down to the idea that no one likes to be “othered” in any way.

Leave a Reply

