Mothers’ Day

Six months ago I wrote this.  A lifetime ago.  My sweet Daisy baby wasn’t even a glimmer in my eye.  I truly thought I was losing two of the most amazing souls I’ve ever met.  About to be de-mothered.

Today I walked into that same building and sat in the same sterile, windowless room. 

Except this time when they referred to me, it wasn’t as ‘foster mom’, it was ‘pre-adoptive mom’.  Imagine how good the day will be when it’s just ‘mom’? 

TPR is to be filed by the end of this month.  Which means there is a long road with sad days ahead.  But today we celebrate – forever just may be within reach.

22 Responses to “Mothers’ Day”

  1. “pre-adoptive mom” I like the ring of that! 🙂 YAY!!

  2. OMG! OMG! I am sitting here teary-eyed and so excited for you. This is a huge step toward forever! I am praying everything goes well, quickly and smoothly. ((HUGS))

  3. TPR!!! You guys are so meant to be together forever!

    It’s funny how such a sad thing can also be such a happy thing.

  4. SO glad your little family looks like it’s going to be your little forever family! The story will always be bittersweet, but you put the sweet in it for them.

  5. what is tpr?

    but i LOVE the sounds of ‘pre-adoptive’

  6. Congrats!!! This is awesome news. Congrats.

  7. Congrats mama! I can’t wait to hear more.

  8. Hope it all runs smoothly for you. I am so excited your babies get to be forever.

  9. Rikki – TPR is termination of parental rights. The state will be filing a petition to the judge requesting that they terminate mom’s parental rights to the children.

  10. Oh E!! I’m so excited for you and your beautiful family!!! I cannot wait for you guys to be a forever family.

  11. eee!!! How exciting!! 🙂

  12. Oh my! I hope everything goes smoothly!

  13. As always, late to the party, but nonetheless super happy that your family unit may very well get to stay together forever! 🙂

  14. You are a MOM. In all the ways that matter. I am glad the courts are recognizing that and you will get to drop the silly words before your name! YAY!

  15. What great news! I’m so happy for you all!

  16. Amazing!!!!!

  17. Eeeek! This will be a joyous, sad, exciting, nerve wracking few months. Praying for you all as you walk through it! Blessings!!!

  18. Oh wow, what amazing news! Best wishes for the road ahead.

  19. There are no words for how happy I am for you!

  20. WOOHOO!!! Late to the party but I am SO happy for you guys. Best wishes in the weeks and months ahead.:)

  21. This is great news. Sending lots of blessings and wishes for your family.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

