On Having Three

  • Someone is always hungry.  Always.  And usually its a mommy since inevitably, the minute we heat something up and sit down to eat, the baby wants a bottle.
  • Someone is always talking/crying/otherwise trying to get attention.  It’s especially fun (and deafening) when it’s all 3 at the same time.  I have never valued silence so much.
  • There is always a child in my arms, strapped to my chest, hanging onto my leg, or holding my hand.  That part’s not so bad.  I’m a cuddler and I’ll admit that I’ve made them that way.  Though it does make it tricky to eat (see first bullet).
  • Moments of chaos are frequent.  Even with the best routines in place (routines.are.a.must), it all falls apart sometimes.  The worst is right when we all get home from work and school.  There are only 3 kids, 1 dog and 1 cat in my house but in that moment, you wouldn’t be able to tell us apart from a zoo.  Sometimes you’ve just gotta embrace the crazy.
  • Going from 0 to 2 is a million kajillion times harder than going from 2 to 3. 
  •  I do not find it difficult to still practice my attachment parenting with 3.  Or even with 2 under 2.  Sometimes a baby cries for a minute longer than I would like, but its much more manageable that I would have imagined.  The most helpful thing is that even when my hands/arms are taken up by Daisy, I can console RB with my voice. 
  • Speaking of 2 under 2, I don’t know what the hype is all about.  Its cake.  Well, maybe not cake, but it’s not bad.  At least for now…lets check in on that one again in another 6-12 months.
  • It is exhausting.  And its difficult at the end of the day to have the energy/time/brain space left to properly acknowledge and connect with my wife.  I miss her.
  • But there is love – so much love.  Sibling kisses galore.  Daisy doesn’t even fuss when RB plants a big wet one right on her lips…12 times a day.  The girls have special smiles and giggles reserved only for their favorite brother.  They are so close – I don’t know how it happened, but its amazing to watch.
  • I’ve always got a helper.  Sprout races to the side of his sister if she’s crying and if RB is ever in the presence of Daisy fussing, she’ll pat her belly and say “shhhhh”.  Then she gives me a smile full of pride at her ability to be a little mama.
  • We love it and wouldn’t trade it for the world.  The house is full and warm and lively.  I always thought I wanted a big family and I was right.  Even if it didn’t come the way I had planned, I’m so happy to have gotten my wish.  A is a big family convert.  So much so that we are currently  in talks regarding the timing of baby #4 😉  (ha! as if we have any control over the timing of our children!)
2 Comments to “On Having Three”

  1. Do you think you can give me some of your patience, please? You seem to have a lot more than I do. 🙂

  2. beautiful. Thrilling. I love having multiples. I love a home full of love ❤

Leave a Reply

