Kindred

When I take the baby to the grocery store, I always have to plan at least an extra 5-10 minutes for people to stop and oogle over her cuteness.  People just love babies, especially when they are as tiny as Daisy.   I can’t say I blame them, I spend quite a bit of time oogling over her cuteness too.  The disappointing thing is that at least 80% of the people who stop us to chat and take a peek say something stupid.  I mean really stupid.  

Here are a few examples:

“What country is she from?” (Right, because she’s brown, she must not be American.)

“Awww, she’s got your [fill in the blank]”  (Come ON people.  I’m fair skinned, redheaded, freckled and Irish.  My babies are very dark, black curly-haired beauties.  Genetics can play some crazy tricks, but not that crazy.)

“Is she okay in that thing [meaning my wrap]? Can she breathe?” (No, she can’t. I’m actually suffocating my baby right in front of you.)

On my most recent trip, I had gotten all three of the above comments before I even made it to the dairy section.  I was exhausted and ready to get the heck out of there when another lady approached me.  We went through all the typical questions “Is it a girl? What’s her name? How old?” before she surprised me with, “You a foster parent?”

“Wow.  Yes I am.  No one ever asks that!” 

“I could tell by your smile.  I am too.” 

(double wow. What a sweet thing to say! Instant watery eyes)

“I have 3”

“I have three too!”

And so began a lovely conversation with a kindred soul in front of the milk case.  A reminder that as different as my path often feels, I’m not alone.  Gosh, I needed that.

8 Comments to “Kindred”

  1. How nice to connect with someone like that. I’m glad she spoke with you 🙂

  2. What a great anecdote! I’d love to have something similar happen to me, though it won’t while I have a teenager in my house. I’ve sworn off of taking her to the grocery store. She can just text me when she remembers she needs something 🙂

  3. I have heard every single one of those. One guy was convinced that Zeb, one of my former babes, had to be ethopian even though I explained that he was not. Crazy!

    It’s nice to find someone else who understands.

  4. Awww, that’s awesome!

  5. Hooray for a kindred spirit! What a nice way to wash the stupid off 🙂 I’m so glad she said something to you.

  6. Laughing at “washing the stupid off.” We’d love to hear your witty retorts.

    So glad you found some kindred spirits!

  7. How neat to randomly connect with another FP like that. I try and remind myself that I am an ambassador of sorts for fostering when I get the stupid questions…it doesn’t make it any easier – but I feel cooler in the process.

  8. I know this is really past due, but I’ve just found your blog…..

    The stupidest comment I got when my oldest was 8months was “why do you make him wear those glasses” Um.. because he cant SEE without them..*sigh*

Leave a Reply

