Book Recs

Have you noticed how many parenting books there are out there?  I took a class in graduate school and we had to read 30 by the end of the semester.  I got two take-aways from that exercise: 1) the qualifications to publish a book are far too lax 2) no wonder parents are confused.

So let me help you narrow it way down with a couple of book recommendations.  What these books have in common is that they are nicely aligned with my overall style which I’ve come to define as peaceful parenting with a sense of friendly firmness (check out those alliterations).  No yelling, no power-struggling, but no lack of boundaries or consequences either.  Or at least that’s the goal, and these books have helped me get there.

On a side note, when I went online to put these two books on hold at my local library for the wife to read, a sidebar popped up with suggestions for other key words I might want to search by.  The list included “maternal love”, “promoting attachment”, “teaching kindness” and “empathy” – if I had any doubt I was on the right track before, it’s certainly long gone now.

1) Love Lessons and Limits: A parent’s guide to raising cooperative kids. By Bill Corbett.

This is always the first book I recommend to parents who ask.  It’s a quick read, its funny, its real, and it offers concrete suggestions for common problems.  Google him and you’ll also find a website, a newsletter, and a limited release TV show for more free resources.  If you are in Southern New England you could also have the pleasure of attending of of his free parenting seminars.  Its good stuff – for realz.

2)  Parenting with Love and Logic by Foster Cline and Jim Fay. Or pick up their version for children under six: Love and Logic Magic for Early Childhood.

I’ll start by saying that I’ve read both and they are very similar so don’t bother doing what I did.  Also, if you go with Parenting with Love and Logic, get the newest version since they’ve done some editing.  These books gave me my parenting voice.  My tone, my words, I found them here.  They taught me to speak so that my children would listen and, as we all know, that is the first step. 

*Here I’ll insert the standard disclaimer about having no affiliation or financial motivation behind these recommendations.  I love these books. I love kids. And I love you.*

6 Comments to “Book Recs”

  1. Your timing could not have been more perfect! On my way to work this morning I was thinking about all the parenting books I have perused that I think *might* be good but leave me wondering and overwhelmed with the choices. I just followed your links and bought two books. Thanks E, I’m looking forward to the tips that will enrich my parenting skills and my relationship with my daughter.

  2. Thanks for the suggestions! My tone could use some work these days 🙂

  3. We use a lot of Love and Logic. We do a lot of ‘uh-ohs’and “making good choices” in our house. 🙂

  4. Thank you! We’ve been having a lot of power struggles and not listening in our house lately, I could use a change in my parenting.

  5. My dog was barking at me to come sit on the couch with him. I looked at him and said, “you can sit on the couch by yourself, or you can join me in the office on the futon.” My partner said, “Way to raise a dog with Love & Logic, there J.” Such a nerd am I.

  6. By the way, E. It’s simplyjeanius. Sometimes it shows up one way, and sometimes another. I don’t know why. I started a blog–and messed up the system 😉 I don’t really know what I’m doing yet.

Leave a Reply

