Mom-iversary

Saturday marked the 1 year anniversary of Sprout and Rosebud’s arrival.  This year  flew by…but then again, it feels like I’ve been their mommy forever.  

That day was such an odd combination of nerves and normalcy – there really isn’t any other experience I could compare it to.  I knew that day my life would be changed forever but I could never have anticipated the joy and fear and sadness that was around the bend. 

A big part of me is still processing my entrance to motherhood – not to mention the whole 0 to 3 kids in less than 12 months thing.  But one thing I know without hesitation:

This is exactly where I was meant to be. 

A painful struggle to get licensed and far too many months battling infertility (unsuccessfully) and it was all necessary to wind up where I am now.  Happy, whole, at peace.

There’s a Rascal Flatts song that I’ve always loved and heard for the first time in a while this weekend.  Now I hear it in a whole different context, and the tears just started flowing:

Every long lost dream led me to where you are
Others who broke my heart they were like Northern stars
Pointing me on my way into your loving arms
This much I know is true
That God blessed the broken road
That led me straight to you

Happy 1 year to my beautiful Sprout and Rosebud.  You are so loved and so welcome.  I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t hoping for many more.

15 Responses to “Mom-iversary”

  1. Congratulations on a very important anniversary.

  2. congrats. I can’t believe its already been a year. Such lucky little kids!

  3. It is crazy how different a year can be. I am hoping for many more years too.

  4. Oh, what a sweet post. That song fits perfectly. The kids are so lucky to have you!

  5. A year? Wow! I hope you’ll have many more anniversaries to celebrate with your kiddos!

  6. happy happy mom-iversary!

  7. What a year it has been! Congratulations on such a special day. I am hoping with all my heart that you all have many more years together. It’s amazing what comes out of great sadness and pain, isn’t it? ((hugs))

  8. Congratulations. I began following your blog BC (before children!)so this is extra exciting to read how far you’ve come. It is amazing what changes a year can bring – truly makes you wonder what you’ll be celebrating this time next year. In the past year 8 new children have come into our family, all but one has returned to family or relatives…*sigh*

  9. Congratulations on your first trip around the sun as a Mom! Darn Rascal Flatts… they get me every time, too. Have you listened to “Here” in the same context? Have kleenex on hand.

  10. Tears in my eyes…I know those lyrics and they could not be more fitting. Congratulations and here’s to many more years with these fantastic children!

  11. Congratulations!! What a fabulous mom you are! 🙂

  12. Congratulations on your first mom-iversary!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

