I know who I want to be when I grow up

I want to be Daisy’s babysitter. 

She’s a foster mom who lives around the corner from us.  She’s retired and single (widowed? divorced? I don’t ask) and has committed the rest of her life to caring for drug exposed and medically complex foster babies.  She jokes that she hasn’t slept through the night in 10 years.

She has had over 100 babies through her home most of which she’s gotten straight from the hospital – either after birth and detox, or recovery from an injury.  She’s seen the worst of the worst and has witnessed the most horrific and disgusting things people do to babies.  But it doesn’t stop her…she will say yes to any call within her age range no matter the difficulties or complexities of the baby’s needs.  She has rocked every last one of those babies to sleep.

I’m sure she’s rarely thanked.  An afterthought in the eyes of the system.  She’s not in it for keeps.  Even the babies will not remember her.  But she does it anyway.  She embodies the saying, “It takes a village to raise a child.”  She’s such an inspiration to me. 

Can you believe there are angels like this in the world?  Thank God there are.

5 Comments to “I know who I want to be when I grow up”

  1. Lucky Daisy to have an angel as a babysitter!!! It is a special calling to care for drug exposed and medically involved babies. Hard, hard, glorious work.

  2. I love that there are angels like this in the world. One such lady is responsible for bringing us PBS. She never goes more than 2 days without a tiny, sick baby to care for. Amazing.

  3. I’ve been away for about 9 months and was happy to read your blog and that you still have S and R and now baby Daisy! I’m so happy for y’all!

    The Angel babysitter rocks. I’m sure she doesn’t get thanked enough… give her a hug for us too.. we know how rough the drug babies are and we would LOVE to have a babysitter like her around here! She’s an angel!

  4. So many of your posts have brought tears to my eyes, but this one takes the cake. Thanks for reminding me that there are angels among us. Daisey’s babysitter sounds likes an amazing person to know.

  5. I’m so glad there are people out there like you, and Daisy’s sitter. She sounds like a great woman, and the system probably doesn’t give her the credit she deserves, yet she does it anyway for the babies. Simply amazing.

Leave a Reply

