One Week

Its been one week since we met our sweet Daisy and became a family of 5. 

One week into our placement with Sprout and Rosebud I was panicking.  Convinced I had gotten myself in way over my head and terrified that I had made the biggest mistake of my life.  I was desperate for a break and fatigued emotionally and physically.  I have an acute memory of the way my ears rang and my head spun from all the crying and whining.  Those were some dark and scary days, but somehow we managed to put on a happy face and do the work we were called to do, simply putting one foot in front of the other.  Thank God we did.  Because today? One week after saying yes for the second time?

Today I have the most incredible family ever. 

There are still some tears and whining and doubts.  And all I want for Hanukkah is a nap.  But I’m loving it. 

Even as life settled into a happy routine with Sprout and Rosebud, there was always the feeling that someone was missing.  We were under the assumption that the missing person was the one we had yet to conceive and so it was that we were off to the RE for try after miserable try.  But the minute she came, that empty space was filled.  Last Friday, after we had kissed 3 little heads goodnight, A and I collapsed on the couch and she said, “Something about this feels right.”  Who says that after getting the shock of her life with a surprise 3 day old straight from the hospital who’s barely a year younger than the other baby you already have and holy crap, what did we just say yes to??  But she was right.  This family feels so right.

6 Comments to “One Week”

  1. I am jumping up and down in celebration of your new family. It’s times like these I wish this world was smaller. I can think of no better reason to party than the arrival of a child and if anyone deserves a party, it’s y’all!!!

    It makes my heart feel full to imagine your sweet family warm and safe and in love! Blessings, you crazy kids, you!!!

  2. Isn’t it just amazing when it all comes together in perfect (and exhausted!) parenting bliss??? So thrilled the littlest one has landed with your wonderful family. The stork knew what he/she was doing this time!

  3. So glad to hear your family is settling in to happiness as a party of five.:)

  4. Get out of my head! :-)I could have written most of this post.

    S was watching me fawn all over Pandora and she said,”See! You cried and cried wanting a baby…here she is” I just never stopped to think the joy would come to us in such a surprising way.

    I am so happy you are happy and feel complete. Big hugs and wishes for continued joy flying from my coast to yours.

  5. Enjoy your little family.

  6. I am so happy for you all! What a joy it must be to have it all feel so right.

Leave a Reply

