When the going gets tough…

the tough get remodelling and redecorating.

1) Sprout’s big boy room.

Before (office/junk room):

After:

Okay, so we actually started that before our world came crashing in on us last week, but the nervous energy was helpful to get it all pulled together and mostly finished.  We’re still working on valances, an area rug, and I want to change the pulls on the dresser to something fitting with the theme.

ps – I didn’t have to tidy his room for this picture.  This is exactly as he left it this morning and every morning.  Note to self: mention Sprout’s cleanliness compulsion to therapist…

2) Basement

Unfortunately I don’t have before pictures on this one.  I was too anxious to just get started already (I’ve had this project in my mind since we bought the house), but this is the basement as it stands at the moment.  Well, half of it…we are leaving the other half unfinished for storage.

This space will be a playroom so I can get the darn toys out of my living room already.

And through those sliding doors will be my office area.

A few more coats of mud, a drop ceiling, paint, trim and carpet and hopefully I’ll have the after pics to share with you shortly.

Up next: Rosebud’s nursery (since she’s just recently moved out of our room).

And did I mention that we are also hosting 20 for Thanksgiving?  I’ve got a big fat bird brining away.

I’d say our coping strategy is something akin to “an object in motion stays in motion”…

7 Comments to “When the going gets tough…”

  1. Sprout’s room looks amazing! It looks like the perfect place for a 4y old to rest his head. And as the owner of a playroom, we STILL have toys everywhere! 😉

  2. As usual, your home projects turn out fantastic! I’m jealous of the basement fireplace.

  3. I love it! That basement is going to be fantastic. I wish we had basements in CA. I know everything will turn out beautifully. Thinking of you.

  4. You’re not going to believe this. Seriously. Bizzare! We are finishing our basement… to make a play room. Leo is down there now.

    I’ve been wanting to remodle Simeon’s room (which used to be my office), but haven’t started yet. Sprout’s room looks fantastic. I’m mad about red and that is perfect!

    Keep going, be at peace. You’ve been in my prayers.

  5. Sprout’s room looks AMAZING!! Our basement was technically finished when we bought the house, but just with ugly paneling and linoleum. We recently painted and carpeted down there to turn it into a playroom and moved all of E’s stuff down there. It is wonderful! I was skeptical at first because it seemed like a weird place to think about spending much time, but it is SO different now and I just love it. Can’t wait to see how yours turns out!

  6. Amazing! I can’t wait to see more pics of Rosebud’s room! And, I am also jealous of your basement fireplace, office & sliding doors–how perfect for working while the kids are playing. My work office is in the basement (not cute–just a 100 year old building…) and full-spectrum light bulbs have been a lifesaver for me! Just don’t use them too late at night or they can keep y’all awake! You are creating a beautiful, safe space for them they will always cherish. Once you *know* a feeling, it is easier to recreate that feeling, than trying to believe something exists that you never felt.

  7. Wow, can you come do over my DD’s room?:) Sprout’s room is AWESOME! Can’t wait to see Rosebud’s too.

Leave a Reply

