Pile it On

1) Due to circumstances outside of my control, my mom found out that the kids are being RUed.  We didn’t plan to tell her until much closer to the time, since we all know that anything can happen, but she found out and now she’s devastated.   All along we reminded her, and everyone else, that their goal was to be reunited, they weren’t ours forever, but of course she fell in love…as did so many others in our lives.  And now I feel awful and overwhelmingly guilty for the pain they are all about to experience.  We signed up for this heartbreak and crazy life, but they didn’t.  How do I possibly reconcile that? 

2) Sprout has similarly gotten wind of the changes abreast.  He doesn’t know the details, but he intuitively knows something is up and can guess what it involves.  He’s vacillating between sobbing and begging to stay with us in one breath then being disrespectful, not listening, talking back and generally pushing us away in the next.   We are scraping the bottom of the barrel, desperately collecting the energy needed to guide him through this time.

3) A lost her wedding band.  We’ve searched everywhere, including the garbage, and cleaned the house top to bottom.  Its gone.

This is the point where I look around for the camera.  We must be getting punk’d.  That must be it.

8 Comments to “Pile it On”

  1. All I can say is hugs. I don’t know how to help you navigate through this but know I will be here for you and you always have a soft place to land with me. My only advice is to concentrate on the kids and yourselves. The adults in your life need to figure this one out for themselves and be there for you guys. While I am sure it doesn’t really help hold close that you have made a huge difference in the children’s life. They will always hold you in their hearts as will you. Treat eachother gently. With love sam

  2. My thoughts are very similar to Sam’s. I can’t even begin to imagine what you and A are going through and the amount of stress you are under, but I want you to know that I am sending you both lots of love!

  3. I am so sorry E. It’s hard enough when your own heart is breaking without feeling responsible for anothers pain. There is no way to protect them from it, hard as you may try. My heart hurts for you and for Sprout, he must be so conflicted.
    I am here for you, no matter what you need, no matter the time of day. Please call, email,whatever you need. You aren’t alone, though it must feel that way.
    Thinking of all of you and hoping A’s ring shows up, that must have upset you all terribly. Huge hugs.

  4. I’m just so sorry about all the crap you guys are dealing with, including the latest bad news. Hang in there as best you can and lean on each other.

  5. I haven’t known what to say for these past few entries. It just doesn’t seem fair. My heart breaks for you and A. I pray for the best solution for the kids. That Sprout will know just how much you guys love him (I’m sure you already do, but tell him every day). I pray for peace for you and your family.

  6. You already know what I feel about everything else posted to date, so I’m just going to focus on #3. M recently lost her wedding band for several weeks and we’d finally given up looking and started talking about replacing it when it turned up. It was in the pocket of a pair of shorts she’d worn for half an hour one day and then took off because she didn’t like the fit. I guess she’d done dishes during that half hour, but neither of us remembered those shorts had even been out of the closet in the past year. We’d turned the house upside down looking for it, but never checked there. I hope A’s shows up somewhere equally bizarre.

  7. Your post really hit home for me and my parents felt the same way!! We knew and understood the heartbreak but never really thought how that would impact our families. It took a long time for my parents to let down their guards and now that they did I know they will be torn to pieces when our FD goes home.

  8. I don’t really know what to say as nothing seems like enough. I’m thinking of you guys and sending warm thoughts and strength your way.

Leave a Reply

