I love you without end, amen.

At this moment 11 years ago I kissed my wife for the first time.  I was shy and scared and nervous.  I pulled back quickly, “Don’t make me fall in love with you unless this is going to be forever.”  She kissed me again and said, “Go ahead and fall. I’m going to marry you some day.” (Oh the cheesiness! It’s the stuff good teenage romance is made of.)

Through high school, college, graduate school, secrecy and coming out, change in friends, different apartments and houses, new jobs, layoffs, career changes, discrimination, family disapproval, and law changes…she was right the whole time. 

I have spent every day of the past 11 years in love.  The thing is, at the time I didn’t really believe her, but I went ahead and threw my heart in the ring anyway (as I’ve come to do with all things in life!)…thank God I did.

6 Comments to “I love you without end, amen.”

  1. Congratulations! Love is a treasure. A beautiful treasure. May you celebrate another 11 in the same deep love!

    Once again it seems we’re in synch. When Leo and I were officially comitting to love I told him “If we do this [choose love] then we’re in it forever” Then he kissed me. Also, I’m 28.

  2. Congratulations!!! I wish you two many more happy years 🙂

  3. Happy anniversary! That’s pretty amazing…through high school til now.

  4. Aw, that’s so sweet. Congratulations. Happy Anniversary, and many more to come!

  5. Oh…how romantic! Happy Anniversary!

  6. Hey there. I’m a blog-stalker and I had to comment b/c I’m about to be 30 and my partner/wifey and I have been together 13 years this month and we’re HS sweeties too. I read your blog b/c we’re TTC our first and I love to read other people’s journeys!

    Congrats on your lovely family – It’s a rare find this love that can last as long as ours but man it’s worth it! I feel so lucky to have found my soulmate so young and I’m so glad you did too!

Leave a Reply

