Forgiveness

I recently had the joy of witnessing a baptism.  While the ritual isn’t one I’d choose, I recognize what a special event it is and felt honored to be a part of it. 

The minister conducting the baptism said something that has really stuck with me.  He charged the parents with the task of creating a family which speaks the language of forgiveness.  He asked them to forgive, and forgive, and forgive their children so they, too, would learn to forgive.

What a beautiful sentiment and one that I hope to hold at the forefront of my parenting.  It seems so simple, but when you are caught up in the world of discipline, behavior modification, correction and control, forgiveness is a word rarely spoken. 

The next time I’m faced with misbehavior, I hope I remember that it’s an opportunity to teach how to forgive, not how to punish.  Because surely there will be a day when I will need to ask my children for forgiveness and if they had none to give, then I’d only have my lack of teaching to blame.

3 Responses to “Forgiveness”

  1. I really like that. Something to work on.

  2. Forgiveness is a word I need to consciously add to my daily parenting vocabulary. Thank you.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

