Daycare Gone Right

There are far too many daycare horror stories out there – unfortunately, we lived one of our own.  But, there are good ones out there and their praises need to be sung.

I picked up Rosebud early from daycare yesterday.  She’s teething and cranky and I figured I’d spare her teachers a couple of hours of Miss Clingypants.  Well, when I walked in, she was completely comfortable and content, sleeping peacefully all snuggled into her teacher who was rocking away in the rocking chair.  It was one of those moments that was so sweet it nearly broke my heart.  The tender way she was being held and rocked,  and the look of complete relaxation on her face…I wanted to kiss them both.

I asked the teacher how long she had been sleeping and she confessed that it was just over an hour! Which meant that the sweet teacher had given up her lunch break to rock my baby.  I struggled to find the words to both apologize and thank her, but she shook her head and said, “You know how she gets when she’s teething.  The poor thing was so exhausted I couldn’t stand it.  I’m glad she finally got some rest – it was the nicest lunch break I’ve had in a while.”

I’ve known since the first day that she’d be well cared-for in her new daycare, but today I learned that she’s also loved.

8 Comments to “Daycare Gone Right”

  1. When I think about daycare, I break out into cold sweats. This makes me hopeful that there are good ones out there and my children won’t be sitting alone, or worse…

    As it turns out, we don’t need one yet, but I’ll be looking for a place of safety and love for when we do.

  2. That’s one of the sweetest things I’ve read in a while. I’m so glad you were able to find the right daycare.

  3. That is just lovely. Yay for such caring providers.

  4. That’s so sweet!

  5. that’s incredible! how terrific.

  6. What a lovely caregiver and such a sweet sight! I’m so glad you found a place you are happy with. I do hope one day you will blog about the “other place”. I bet it would help other moms know what to watch for or what to do if something does goes wrong.

  7. How sweet! I love hearing those stories.

  8. I am belatedly catching up on your blog, so forgive the untimely comment.

    This post brought tears to my eyes. I am so glad your sweet baby is so loved at daycare.

Leave a Reply

