Sunday in my City

After a fantastic weekend of fun, family and friends, Sprout and I were winding down in a snuggle on the couch.  He got quiet and furrowed his brow when he asked, “Do you like being my mommy?”

Kids have a way of asking these questions when you least expect it.  I couldn’t answer right away because his words had taken my breath.  Instead I kissed him on his forehead and breathed in the smell of his freshly washed hair.

“I like it more than anything else in the world.  Being your mommy is the best thing I’ve ever done.”

“Do you like it more than chocolate ice cream?”  (his favorite)

“Way more.”

My favorite childhood song popped into my head so I rocked him and hummed…

You are my sunshine, my only sunshine

You make me happy when skies are gray

You’ll never know dear, how much I love you

Please don’t take my sunshine away.

3 Comments to “Sunday in my City”

  1. What a special moment. If he only knew just how much you meant that. They say things that just kill you, don’t they? One day LMC just looked up and pointed to us and said, we are a family. I just about lost it.

  2. I sing that when Simeon is feeling most unloveable. It’s a good one.

  3. What a perfect moment.
    I was just singing that to our Buddha boy at bedtime tonight. 🙂

Leave a Reply

