Good Bye Mick-Man

We’ve known Mickey’s time was coming for a couple weeks now.  He had lived a happy and lively 19 years and it was clear he was getting very tired. Although we had bitten the bullet and made an appointment for our lovey man to be put to rest tomorrow afternoon, I was heartbroken and still struggling with the decision.  Well, proving that he really is the sweetest most loving cat, Mickey saved us from being the ones to make that call.  Instead, he passed peacefully in my arms at home this morning.  I held him and I kissed him – I thanked him for the joy he brought to our life – and I told him it was okay to go.

He was our first baby. He moved with us from apartment to apartment and into our house.  He saw us get married and then welcome children.  He saw us grow up.  He was amazing and he will be so so missed.

Enjoy that eternal perfect sliver of sun sweet boy.

11 Responses to “Good Bye Mick-Man”

  1. I’m sorry. I am glad he got to go to the land of eternal kitty sunshine on his own terms though.

  2. I always read comments where people say they are crying after reading a particular post and I wonder if it’s true, but here I am, all watery-eyed at my desk. A first for me.

    I’m so sorry you had to say goodbye to a member of your family today. I hope you can find peace and comfort in your memories of him and your knowledge that he is no longer bound by his aging physical body. *hugs*

  3. I’m so sorry for your loss. What a sweet kitty, taking the decision out of your hands. Lots of hugs to the 4 of you.

  4. So sorry. He was a gorgeous cat and very lucky to have had a life where he was so loved.

  5. So sorry you lost your friend.

  6. I’m so sorry sweetie… I’m teary-eyed here just thinking about how you are feeling. Losing a four-legged family member is so hard.

  7. I’m sorry.

  8. I am so sorry you lost your beloved Mickey. Thinking of you.

    (Also. I would love to have your password if you are comfortable sharing, send it to my gmail account. If not, that’s fine too.)

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

