Complain and You Shall Receive

I frequently complain about mention the absolute lack of information that is provided to foster parents in my state.  We have no idea when the kids have court dates, have never spoken to their attorney, have not one clue about mom’s progress, ect.  We are expected to be caregivers to the children and not involved in any other part of the process.  Its maddening, really.  And not terribly realistic or sensitive to the children because who do you think Sprout asks when he’s wondering where he’ll live next summer? His social worker? His attorney? Of course not – he asks me. 

Well, it looks like our judicial system agrees! We received notice that a new law has been put into effect which, among other things, requires that foster parents be informed of court dates involving the children in their home.  So guess who’s going to be sitting in the front row of an upcoming permanency hearing?  That’s right – its time to start figuring out what the heck is going on with these kids.

5 Comments to “Complain and You Shall Receive”

  1. HOORAY!!!! It’s about time! I can’t imagine being in the dark about our case, I would truly lose my mind. I’m so glad you will finally get the information you deserve.
    P.S. Sending lots of good thoughts your way for Friday.

  2. YAY for the new law! I can’t believe it took until 2010 to get a law into effect that gives you those rights.

  3. Wow! That’s awesome! MY experience so far has been, “Complain (or express any kind of opinion that differs from theirs) and you shall receive a swift kick in the behind and a ‘good riddance’ on your way out the door.” Gotta love foster care! 🙂

  4. You go girl! Really, I mean that, go. You need to be there. You are vital to the care of those children and you have every right to be present! You also have the right to be heard, so if no one’s asking and you have things to say, you grab someone by the shirtsleeve and don’t let go until they listen.

    I can’t believe this is just now becoming practice in your state. We do a lot of things wrong down here in the slow drawl south, but being informed and involved is not one of them. At least that’s my experience. Then again, I’m a thorn in the side of any caseworker. Woe be the one who gives me their cell phone, email and direct desk line. I’m like all up in their business.

    Of course, I’m usually not in the dark much, so it’s a win for me and the kids.

    Can’t wait to hear how it all goes.

  5. That is so good to hear, congratulations! I was a CASA volunteer a few years ago in NJ and I was shocked to find out how little the foster parents were allowed to know (and I was basically told I wasn’t allowed to tell them anything). Sometimes the system goes a little too far in trying to “protect” bio parents rights…

Leave a Reply

