Maybe I’ve still got it

Pre-kids we loved to entertain – I like to wine and dine guests and A loves to chit chat.  We were part of a “dinner party” group so my next opportunity to cook a fabulous meal was never far off.   Well, these days I’m cooking more chicken nuggets than filet and enjoy my dinners in sweatpants covered in mashed carrots flung by an infant.   Glamorous, huh?

Recently we had some family visiting from across the country and before thinking through the logistics, I offered to host them for a dinner.  That meant I had to clean my house and spend a bit longer in the kitchen than a 15 minute mac and cheese. Crap.  It was going to be a challenge.  Could I still entertain with a baby on my hip and a sticky 3 year old who demands attention.every.minute?  Well my friends, I’m happy to announce that, with some modification, I can!  With a few recipes that I could prep in advance and that cooked quickly with ingredients that were relatively Sprout-and-adult-friendly, we all enjoyed a yummy dinner and I got a little confidence pick me up.  It felt good to have a glimpse of the old me – to know that every day I’m working closer to a balance that’s good for all of us. 

In case you’re looking for some crowd-pleasing (but easy!) ideas, here’s our menu:

  • Strawberry Speckled Lemonade
  • Strawberry and Spinach Salad
  • Almond Crusted Salmon Filets (recipe here)
  • Balsamic Marinated NY Strip Steak (recipe here)
  • Mini Twice Baked Potatoes (recipe here)
  • Sauteed Green Beans
  • Fresh Fruit and Coffee for dessert
2 Comments to “Maybe I’ve still got it”

  1. Table for two plus high chair please! 😉

  2. Rock on! If that’s your table, it’s lovely. Purple is my new favorite color. I just painted one wall of my dining room dark, velvety purple.

    It’s nice to sit at home in carrot and pea stained sweats, but it feels good to show your groove once in a while, too!

Leave a Reply

