This is the heartbreak

Coming up on 5 months with us and Sprout is starting to understand this whole foster-kid thing and the temporary nature of it all.  Last week he told me he didn’t want to go to visits anymore.  Ironically, he got his wish when mom cancelled out of the blue this week.  And recently, every time we pull into the driveway, he announces that this is his house – the house from which he’s going to walk to school when he’s big big bigger.  Just like that.

On the way to school today, a little voice piped up from the back, “I don’t want to live with Aunt M again.  I want to stay with you.  And I can see Mommy T only a little bit.  On Sundays.”

Anything I can think to say in response, its just not enough to answer the question that’s begging at his heart.  Right now that question doesn’t have an answer and it’s not going to any time soon.   So I wrap him in my arms and remind him that he’s very special and very loved and no matter what roof we find ourselves sleeping under, he will always have a home in my heart.    What else can I do?

If you’ve found yourself in a similar situation, what do you do?

4 Comments to “This is the heartbreak”

  1. Seriously. You just made me cry. You are doing a wonderful thing. 🙂

  2. You’re doing the only thing I can imagine to do. This is a tricky place to be. Love, love, love and when it seems like perhaps there’s something else, love some more. You’re doing great!

  3. It’s tough line to walk. LMC is younger so it’s a tad easier. She often doesn’t want to visit and whenever we pull up to the house she yells, “Home! Home!” and says all of our names, pets included.

    We document all of this for our SW and assure her that this is her home and we will love her forever.

    It’s so hard watching them struggle like this, isn’t it?

  4. All I’ve found (if they’re old enough) is to talk it out with them. Let them voice all of their emotions and fears. Let them know that the way they feel is normal, and that it’s ok.
    I don’t think there is an answer for this – it is just a hard place.
    I feel you, and I’ll be praying for you!

Leave a Reply

