The Joke’s on Me

On Friday Sprout came down with the stomach bug.  We’re not usually big TV people, but since it was in his best interest to rest and stay mellow, we let him watch the movie Cars.  Then I proceeded to spend the weekend complaining to anyone who would listen about the improper language in the movie and why in the world can’t anyone make a nice, appropriate, children’s movie anymore??

Fast forward to yesterday evening.  I get home from work and Sprout is excited to show me all the treasures his bio mom gave him during their visit (she didn’t show last week so I guess there was lots of making up to do).  A monster truck.  A duck for the bathtub.  A dollar.  And, a movie.  He was especially psyched about the movie. 

You know why the joke’s on me?  Well, after I spent days complaining about a G rated kid’s film, his mom gives him a DVD thats rated PG-13, and full of violence and sexual innuendo (no, we didn’t watch it. I had seen it before).  Apparently he’s 3 going on 13?  As an added bonus, he also told A no less than 5 times that we’re not his mommies and that Rosebud belongs to his mom only. 

Ahhh, the joys of coparenting.

4 Comments to “The Joke’s on Me”

  1. OUCH. I am sorry, how painful and all around shitty. Big hugs, I feel your pain.

  2. ouch. Hang in there. Try to hang onto all the sweet moments. How frustrating this must be for you. Sending support…

  3. I had to laugh… not because it is funny but because these parents have NO IDEA what we are doing for them! They are so full of jealousy that we are mommying their children that they didn’t take care of that they cannot see the blessing we are giving their children. It is so sad that they would rather fill their children’s ears with poison rather than sending them the message that they are thankful for the work you are doing.

    I am so greatful that Princess’s mom has told me thank you for taking care of her. She doesn’t say it often, and I know that her heart is hurt that she has missed the first 7 months of her daughter’s life, but she knows that we are taking care of her. I don’t NEED a “thank you”, because I am doing this for Princess, not for her, but I’m glad that I have not heard of any negative talking towards us. It makes it a little easier to know that she’s going to get her back.

    Keep your heads up. No matter what she says, you ARE the mommies!!

  4. I’m with you on both counts. It is next to impossible to find a truly appropriate kids movie these days. And the emotional game-playing is awful because it ultimately winds up being at the kids’ expense. `Good thing they have you to be there like a rock and set things right again. I hope the last couple of weeks have been better!

Leave a Reply

