Hitting our stride

Last Monday morning, after barely managing to schlep myself to work, a coworker cheerily asked me how my weekend was.  I stared at her blankly for a moment wondering how the answer wasn’t already written all over my baggy-eyed face before answering with “Well, I survived”.  And thats the truth.  As much as week 1 was the honeymoon period, week 2 with Sprout and Rosebud was all about surviving. 

Now we’ve completed week 3 and I can say that we are really living.  My life as mom has begun.  Sure, there have still been tantrums, tears, and screaming; oh my! But it all feels right.  As if we, our for-now family of four, finally got our puzzle pieces clicked together.  Relief. Such sweet relief.

Tags: ,

3 Comments to “Hitting our stride”

  1. So glad to hear your surviving has turned to thriving! Here’s to an even better week 4.

  2. I am so happy to hear this! I hope things just get better and better from here on out 🙂

  3. You will find throughout this journey with your two little bits, that you will settle in and then things change, but the good news is that the changes become easier to adjust to. I’ve become an amazingly different: more patient, mature, kinder, gentler person beecause of my three experiences already.

    I’m glad you’re feeling some of that initial stress pass. I pray that routine for you holds for some time. We’ve had 2 months with one, 3 weeks with another and now 4 months with Simeon. We knew Reuben the first, would go when he did. Zeb, was returned much quicker and more unexpectedly. Each time we get a new placement, there’s an adjustment.

    I usually go on mommy diet and drop five pounds (have no time to eat, never stop moving and try to survive), but as soon as we settle in a week or three, I gain it right back and relax.

    They will go sooner than you wish. Enjoy the stride while you’re in it. Blessings to y’all!

Leave a Reply

