The baby makin begins!

Today was our first meeting with the midwife group who will be knocking up my wife.  All-in-all a pretty standard doctors visit – we expected it to take 40 minutes, in actuality, it took 2 hours – like I said, a pretty standard visit.

One of the great things about going the route of a midwife vs. RE is the bottom line assumption that everything is working great and you’ll get preg without much trouble.  Super.  But.

Because of this, our lovely midwife was really pushing us to stick with one IUI per month for the first few months while we had all but decided to do 2 IUIs our first month.  Yes its more expensive. Yes its entirely inconvenient considering the office is 90 minutes away. Yes it may be unnecessary. 

However, May might be our only child-free month so we’re really wanting to hedge our bets and make the most of it.  Considering childcare and all the other schedule-tightening that comes with a baby, it’ll be much more difficult to get up to Boston past May.  So, we went back and forth with the midwife and left it at “I see no reason why you would need more than one your first month, but if that’s what you want to do, we’ll do it – its your money” (this was a friendly banter, of course. we each appreciated where the other was coming from).    So, we’re gonna go for it and I’m trying, trying, not to get my hopes up.

Off to buy sperm!

3 Comments to “The baby makin begins!”

  1. yeah! Sorry about the blood draw! Yuck. I didn’t have any there since I was up to date with my regular doctor. Oh and remember I can be available for child care if need be. I am sure I could keep a little one wrangled while you go and make a baby. I am pretty flexiable after June. But lets hope you don’t need my help and May is your month!

  2. Thats so sweet Sam – thanks for the offer! We’ll certianly keep it in mind 🙂

    As for the blood work, it took us by surprise since A is up to date on everything and we even brought in her last blood work report as proof. I guess they wanted to do full STD testing, so we went with it.

  3. It’s certainly a personal choice but as you know SSG and I just did one IUI per month and look what happened! Hey you never know right and as the midwives probably told you there’s no reason to believe there is anything wrong and I’m not sure doing 2 increases your chances all that much. Sending good vibes your way!

Leave a Reply

